Advice on Gaming/Graphics Editing Build

Spacey42

Distinguished
Jan 31, 2010
Hello,

I'm a novice at building PCs but have swapped out PSUs, and Harddrives at work and would like to build my own PC since my laptop died looking for advice.

APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: In the next two weeks, maybe even today
BUDGET RANGE: £650-£750 after tax

SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: Gaming, Graphics Editing mostly loads of photos), Coursework and Surfing.

PARTS NOT REQUIRED: keyboard, mouse, monitor, speakers

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: Scan most likely, or Overclockers for a good deal
COUNTRY OF ORIGIN: England

PARTS PREFERENCES: no preference

OVERCLOCKING: Maybe
SLI OR CROSSFIRE: Maybe, might add another GPU in future

MONITOR RESOLUTION: Using 22" Samsung SyncMaster P2270HD at 1920x1080

ADDITIONAL COMMENTS: I'd like a quiet energy efficient PC,

Apart from gaming one of my main pass times is playing with pictures; I tend to have a load open at one, and music playing and the internet browser up, also I’m considering playing with the PLE of Maya.

I’m considering the following but it goes a bit over budget so any suggestions of cheaper substitutes welcome:
Intel Core i5 750 - £152.46
ASRock P55 Extreme - £104.05
Coolermaster Hyper 212 - £21.02
4GB (2x2GB) Corsair TwinX XMS3, DDR3 PC3-10666 - £94.75
1GB Powercolor HD5770 - £116.29
500GB WD Caviar Green - £38.07
650W Antec EarthWatts - £65.18
Antec 200 Gaming Case - £34.77
Samsung SH-S223C 22x DVD +/-R - £18.54
Windows 7 Home Premium 32/64bit - £91.73

£736.86 Overall
Can usually knock a bit off that for offers £716.52 on today’s bargains, and looking to see if I can get the OS cheaper as I’m a student.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Change the hard drive to a Samsung Spinpoint F3/Seagate Barracuda 7200.12/WD Caviar Black as they will perform a lot better than a Caviar Green. And barely use more energy.