Opinions sought for web/photoshop machine

mugglesport

Distinguished
Jan 31, 2010
I'm piecing together a new machine based on some parts I already have and some parts I got in a trade from a friend. The new machine will be my primary computer and will serve as a web/email/general-use and Photoshop/InDesign machine.

APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: whenever
BUDGET RANGE: Hard to say...maybe $300-$400 as I already have most of what I need
SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: Web/email, Photoshop. I don NOT do any gaming.
PARTS NOT REQUIRED: CPU, Motherboard, RAM, CD/DVD, Case, Power Supply, Peripherals (see below)
PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: newegg
COUNTRY OF ORIGIN: USA
PARTS PREFERENCES: none
OVERCLOCKING: No
SLI OR CROSSFIRE: No
MONITOR RESOLUTION: want to be able to do 1920x1080 for a future monitor. Currently have single CRT monitor but want to upgrade over time to either a nice big widescreen or two smaller LCDs. I'm a photographer and the fidelity of color is important. I'll be going with IPS monitor(s) eventually.
ADDITIONAL COMMENTS: I want the machine to be quiet and run cool.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Parts I already have:

CPU
Intel Core2Duo e6600 Conroe
2.4 Ghz; 1066 FSB; 4M L2 Cache

Motherboard
Asus P5LP-LE (HP Leonite 2) Micro ATX
1066 FSB; supports up to 667 DDR2; PCI-Express x16

RAM
2x Kingston KVR800D2/1GR
(1GB DDR800...2gb total)
(Mobo only supports up to DDR667, but I got these in a trade, so I figure I'll use them)

2x Kingston KVR667D2N5K2/2G
(1GB DDR667...2gb total)

Optical Drives
2x IDE Dual Layer DVD Burners

Case
Antec 300

Power Supply
Antec SmartPower 450 Watt (SP-450)

I also have an external 1Tb hard drive.

What I plan on buying:

Video Card
ZOTAC ZT-98GES3G-FSL GeForce 9800 GT 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card - Retail