Sign in with
Your question

How to set up 2 monitors on Dell E521.

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
January 25, 2010 12:09:27 PM

I have a Dell PC E521. I would like to set up 2 monitors. It only has 1 monitor input. I'm new to fiddling with computers but tried to work around with a splitter. Found that didn't work. Do I need to get a different card or driver to do so? Other postings seem to indicate that a second input is required and then you get prompted in Display with set up. Any help to a novice would be appreciated.

More about : set monitors dell e521

a c 147 U Graphics card
a b C Monitor
January 25, 2010 12:20:41 PM

http://www.dell.com/content/products/productdetails.asp...

This is your computer, correct? Click on the Tech Specs tab. There are 3 available video cards that it came with. Did you have onboard, or did you have one of the two expansion cards? I am assuming you have onboard as I believe both of those expansion cards have dual outputs.

Regardless you will need to most likely purchase a video card that has dual outputs. What are you intending to use this for? Desktop apps? Games?
m
l
January 25, 2010 12:41:00 PM

jay2tall said:
http://www.dell.com/content/products/productdetails.asp...

This is your computer, correct? Click on the Tech Specs tab. There are 3 available video cards that it came with. Did you have onboard, or did you have one of the two expansion cards? I am assuming you have onboard as I believe both of those expansion cards have dual outputs.

Regardless you will need to most likely purchase a video card that has dual outputs. What are you intending to use this for? Desktop apps? Games?

I'm just using it for simple desktop apps - email on one, Word doc on the other, etc.

Do you have any online recommendation for ordering the 2 output card - this one only has the one output option right now. Thanks for your help.
m
l
Related resources
January 25, 2010 12:57:36 PM