Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Win7 will not install on new build, please help me:

Last response: in Systems
February 1, 2010 11:42:27 AM

I've just finished to built a new PC, all with brand new parts. Here's the spec:

Mobo: Asus P5Q-SE
CPU: Core 2 Quad 9650
CPU cooler: Noctua NH-U9B
Video: Sapphire Radeon 5870
RAM: 4gb OCZ Reaper DDR2-1066
OS disk: Intel X25-M 80GB SSD (latest model)
Storage: Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB (currently not pluged)
PSU: Antec Earthwatts 650W
Case: Lian-Li PC-25B "Blue Ring"

Everything seems to be fine, PC is posting normally, I can access all the BIOS Menus and everything else. All boot settings seem to be ok. All hardware has been detected correctly. But when I try to load the OS, Windows loads the install files and then blue screen comes out showing error codes and a bunch of troubleshooting options (which is pretty lame for those with some experience). I must say that I am by no means a newbie when it comes to built my own PCs for gaming and working. I've been doing this for about 15 years and this is the first time I had trouble installing an OS on a new build.

Here is the message that I'm getting:

"A problem has been detected and Windows has been shut down to prevent damage to your computer.

If this is the first time you've seen this stop error screen, restart your computer. If this screen appears again, follow these steps:

Check to be sure that you have adequate disk space. If a driver is indentified in the stop message, disable the driver or check with the manufacturer for driver updates. Try changing video adapters.

Check with your hardware vendor for any BIOS update. Disable BIOS memory options such as caching or shadowing (I've never used this)
If you need to use safe mode to remove or disable components, restart your computer, press F8 to select advanced startup options, and then select safe mode."

Technical Information: