qweoiuqweoiu

Honorable
Oct 9, 2012
Ok.. its been years since i last built my own PC.. and now I finally get the chance to build a new one so basically im new with overclocking.. i only learned about it through reading forums, tutorials and etc.

heres my build
MoBo: Sabertooth z77
CPU: i7 3770k
Cooler: Corsair H100
Ram: Corsair Vengeance 1600 16gb

with some tweaking on bios i got this results..

Idle:
66033189.png

With Prime95:
25282635.png

i was hoping to go higher but without exceeding temp of 80 (because i read on some post that 80degrees is the safe temp for the CPU) so any suggestions on what voltage i should go for??

and another question.. should the core speed just stay on 4490-4500 MHz even on idle mode?? because mine just stay on that number..

edit: woops sorry wrong pic..

asuslover

Honorable
Oct 4, 2012
I have the same chip and asus v pro.....and yes i got stable at 4.5 at all time with prime 95 for 10 hrs.. Stable but the celcius is about 86 but is up and down and is not solid... Second mine just stay at 4.5 lol

jemm

Distinguished

I don´t know where you´ve read it, but by Intel specifications your CPU should not go over 67.4°C -- under load your CPU is reaching 67C, which is fine!

larkspur

Distinguished

Tcase is not Tjmax, don't confuse them. Tcase is a measurement of the cpu's case temperature taken from the center of chip's package on the topside under the heatspreader. Tcase is significantly less than Tjmax.

Core temperatures refer to temperature of individual cores and their relevant limit is Tjmax. At Tjmax the chip throttles down to avoid damage.

To be "safe" core temperatures should be at least 20c less than Tjmax. The i7-3770k has a Tjmax of 105c so keeping it under 80c is 25c under Tjmax which is good and recommended for any 24/7 OC. Obviously increased temperatures lower the longevity of the chip, but Tcase is not Tjmax.

jemm

Distinguished

Can you please provide a link to a documentation to legitimate your assumption above?