Sign in with
Your question
Closed

Diamond 4850 Artifacting.

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
January 26, 2010 10:29:28 AM

I'll try and keep this as short as possible.

I've had my Diamond Radeon HD 4850 512MB for about 2 years now and have been very pleased with the performance I've gotten for the price. This card however has always run very hot. When I first purchased it, it would idle around 70 degrees and hit around 87 degrees under load. After about a year or so it would idle around 80 degrees and hit 102 under full load.

I recently installed Windows 7 and wanted to play with some DirectX10. So I installed my copy of Crysis Warhead. I set the resolution to 1280x1024 (my preferred for my old 19inch Philips CRT monitor) 2xAA, and all settings to Gamer (High). The framerate was fairly decent after initial chopyness for about 10 seconds or so and I started playing. After about 2 mins I started getting grey artifacts all over the screen, usually looked like long grey lines or stretched out triangles, I backed down the settings to Mainstream (Medium) and turned off the AA and the problem persisted. After about 2 mins VPU recover kicked in and my machine bluescreened.

I decided my card must be overheating. I took the card out and removed the fan unit and heatsink. The thermal paste they use was dried and half baked off so I replaced it with a fresh coat of AC MX-2, as well as cleaned all the dust and dirt from the fins in the heatsink. I booted back up and immediately noticed my idle temp drop from the usual ~80 degrees to about 65. I booted up Crysis again and immediately still had the same artifacting with the GPU hitting about 93 at its peak.