Sign in with
Your question

Need help picking a motherboard (needed for gaming)

Last response: in Motherboards
September 5, 2010 6:29:20 PM

So I have decided to buy a:

i7 930
GTX 460

So far these are the only two parts I am sure of.

I would really like a motherboard that is expandable for the future and that has great accessibility for SLI and other things.

I'm a real noob @ motherboards so hopefully I can get some good advice.

I am using it for gaming.
a c 135 V Motherboard
a b 4 Gaming
September 5, 2010 8:40:56 PM

GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R and ASUS P6X58D-E are both great options,you can't go wrong with either.
September 6, 2010 6:48:14 AM

Maziar said:
GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R and ASUS P6X58D-E are both great options,you can't go wrong with either.

thanks. Can you explain what makes these two good for gaming?

I was also looking at the rampage formula or rampage gene.

Related resources
a b V Motherboard
September 6, 2010 7:04:08 AM

It depends all on how much you are willing to spend.. Basically, con X58 chipset based motherboards are very similar performers.. You'll be safe with any purchase you make.. Just look upto the feature set and aesthetics appealing to you.. Both the rampage formula and gene lack many new features such as USB 3.0 and SATA 6 Gbps.. Not that they are outright important but if i am spending that much for a motherboard then i'd like to have all the features possible.. Keeping all that in view, i'll like to add the MSI BigBang XPower X58 to Maziar's recommended list.. Its got all the features, performs well, looks good, overclocks brilliantly and has a good layout also..

P.S. - Considering the recent price cut on the i7 950, it becomes a better buy over the i7 930.. Consider it..
a c 135 V Motherboard
a b 4 Gaming
September 6, 2010 7:19:22 AM

+1^
Rampage gene and formula lack both USB 3.0 and Sata 6,also Gene is a microATX board,which i don't recommend unless you have SFF(Small Form Factor) case
September 6, 2010 7:57:41 AM