Instability with a new build

Tags:
  • Graphics Cards
  • New Build
  • Overclocking
Last response: in Overclocking
October 10, 2012 7:56:32 PM

Hi

I am having some problems with a new build and I'm out of ideas. It's my first build and I think I may have aimed a little too high. The specs are:
Intel I7 3770k
Dual Nvidia GTX 580 in SLI (1 EVGA the other PNY)
24GB Ram (ddr3)
256GB Samsung SSD
2 TB hard drive
Antec kuhler h20 620
3 viewsonic 23" 3D monitors
LG Blu Ray
1050W PSU
MSI Z77A GD65 motherboard

The system seems to work ok in the most part except for a couple of annoying issues.
It crashes or won't boot whenever I try and over-clock to anything more than 4.2GHZ (I see other people achieving much more with the same specs). It never gets above 55c
The Internet freezes almost every time I use it. I'l reach a website and not be able to navigate away. This is especially annoying when I type an email and loose it all before I can send it. It's not the service because my Macbook Pro works fine and is much faster on the Internet.
I bought a PCI E wireless card with 3 antennas sticking out the back. How do other people get wireless without that?
The power button on the case doesn't work (phantom 410). I have to open it up and use the motherboard power button every time.

Nothing works when Norton is installed. Every time I make a change it tells me I have o close some file that I can't find.

It can only use 16GB of the 24GB installed but the motherboard claims to work with up to 32GB

I know this is a random list of issues...The main problem is the crashing and freezing. I have never built a gaming machine before. Is it normal for them to be so unstable or is there a key rooky mistake I could be making. Crysis 2 crashes every time I play it.
My Mac is stable and never crashes is Windows just less stable than Mac OS? I feel like I must have done something wrong but I can't think where to look. Any idea for me to try?