Desktop HD won't boot when cloned onto Laptop HD

dark ride

Distinguished
Aug 14, 2012
Hi Guys,

I'm in the process of attempting to clone my office desktop computer to my laptop as an upgrade. I have been doing taxes and bookkeeping for many years and would rather not have to reinstall all of my programs and setup all of my settings. I made a backup image using my external hd and xml driveimage. I was able to restore it using the previous OS, but now it won't boot. I did a repair install and it copied all the files but was unable to complete the install. When it boots up it loads the Windows XP screen and the bars scroll across for a bit then reboots. If I try to boot into safe mode, it says Windows XP Setup cannot run in safe mode. I used the disable automatic restart feature to get this error code. I have run both fixmbr and fix boot from the recovery console to no avail. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

Technical Information:

STOP: 0x0000007E (0xC0000005, 0xF7664650, 0xF796342C, 0xF7963128)

As you've just learned the hard way. Windows does not like to be moved between differing platforms. This is because of various low level drivers that bind themselves to the hardware during installation. If you insist on using this cloned drive you will have to perform a fix install of Windows on the new hardware. However, this will roll all Windows updates and service packs back to whatever level is on the DVD. And as has already been pointed out if it's an OEM license this is not legal.

dark ride

Distinguished
Aug 14, 2012