GA-970A-UD3 and Crossfired 5770

Status
Not open for further replies.

bigbadbrad23

Distinguished
Sep 6, 2010
Hey Guys,

I just got a custom computer from Cyberpowerpc this week. I got two 5770's installed and hooked up with a crossfire bridge. There is no crossfire tab in my Catalyst Control Center. In My GPU-Z it shows that my second card has a maximum of 16x but I think it's only electrically set for 4x. But the Graphics card is only running at 2x.

I'm assuming that this is why I have no crossfire option because the Graphics cards are running at two different speeds. I'm very frustrated that I was sold A motherboard that said it could do Crossfire but can't technically do it. Is there any way to adjust the PCI-E speeds to make them both even speeds? Or to somehow force the 4x slot to go up to at least 8x or lower the other 16x down to match the other card?

Thanks, I'm pretty new to all of this stuff but I really wanted to have a powerful gaming rig and it looks like If I can't figure this out than I need to just sell back my 5770's and go with a 5870 but I really didn't want to have to spend the extra money for that.

Thanks,

Solution
If you're unsure then don't replace your MOBO. The first time can be difficult, you can damage your CPU, or face issues with new drivers, etc.

My "feeling" is to get the single faster GPU AND have CyberPower replace the MOBO so it won't interfere with your {warranty.}

The "big" advantage of CF is that you can ~ effectively double your GPU performance. So in the future you could add another HD 5870 which in a year will be considerably less $. So that said and thinking of tomorrow I would send it back to CyberPower; a PITA {pain in the a$$} today but you'll be much happier tomorrow...and as long as you own your rig.

Keep in mind if you don't have an {HD} high-definition monitor {1920 x 1080} or better the HD 5770 works just fine...