Gaming PC Up to $1200

ansionnachcliste

Distinguished
Feb 2, 2010
Expected to build: Beginning of April.

Hey guys, I'm planning to build a computer soon. I'm a huge gamer and like the likes of FPS games such as MW2, Brothers in Arms, Crysis and like strategy games and sometimes I like to buy games that just look damn good so would require them to be lag free with max settings. Can I pull this off with my budget?

I'm also studying in a Sound Tech. course and would need a fast computer for audio recording and editing and also other multimedia such as working with flash and videos.

I've been looking on: http://www.hardware-revolution.com/hardware-revolutions-1000-gaming-build-version-2-0/
and it looks good.

I've read about the i7 - 920 but am not sure if it's worth the little bit extra.

I don't need a mouse, speakers or keyboard.

I think I may require a 64 Bit OS I believe.

Ive got £500 now (798.895 USD) so I could spend a max of $1200 (about £850).

I'm living in the UK now so UK sites preferably; in order to avoid some taxes etc.

Also, I Hope not to go over £850 at the moment if I don't have to but if I must then I'll try my best.
If there are any other recommendations, please let me know as I'm looking for a very high performance computer and hopefully have the cash for it.

Thanks guys,

ansionnachcliste

Many respondents would reply that planning a machine to be built 2 months from now is an exercise in futility as the marketplace changes week to week. I'm not generally in that camp and plan my own new builds along that same time frame. However, in February, there's a lot of truth to this sentiment for several reasons:

1. Intel prices drop at end of February
2. Intel new CPU's drop in 1st - 2nd quarter
3. Vendor's new MoBos arrive within weeks of the new CPU's
4. This year anyway, the "other shoe drops" as nVidia releases their new GFX cards in March.