Sign in with
Your question

Is it normal for core i7 930 to idle at 55-58 celcius?

Tags:
  • CPUs
  • Intel i7
  • Temperature
  • Product
Last response: in CPUs
April 10, 2010 1:54:55 PM

I just bought my new computer and I am new in custom build computers and this is my first time to be concern on my computer's temperature. I just want to know your opinion about the temperature of my CPU which is a core i7 930 (no overclocking and stock fan and heatsink). It idles at around 54 to 58 degree celsius in all 4 cores and goes upto 68 to 75 degree celsius at full load in all 4 cores. I used realtemp to monitor the temperature.

Specs:

Core i7 930 Processor
6GB Memory
Intel DX58SO Motherboard
Antec 902 Casing

All 4 fans of the Antec 902 casing are set to medium speed. The room temperature is about 33 degree Celsius (summer)

More about : normal core 930 idle celcius

a b à CPUs
April 10, 2010 2:01:43 PM

Those temps are ok with the stock HSF, considering your ambient temperature is quite high. Just remember that 100C is when the CPU either shuts down or throttles back to prevent further damage, while you should keep the core temperatures below 75C, perferably 70C to ensure longevity.
m
l
April 10, 2010 2:15:45 PM

Those arent exactly wonderful temps-
m
l
April 10, 2010 3:33:10 PM

Very very good yes itll make an enormous fifferenc
m
l
April 11, 2010 8:10:33 AM

But is my current temperature good enough to make my cpu last for about 2 or 3 years?

I will use it 8 to 10 hours a day mostly just for basic things like internet browsing but I will also use it for 3 to 5 hours of playing some latest 3d games.

The latest CPU temperature I got today went upto 80°+ Celsius on all four cores and the maximum was 87° celcius on the first core using realtemp and 10 seconds of Prime95 with all fans on my Antec Casing set to High.
I think is very hot and had to stop Prime95 because I got afraid that the CPU might overheat.