Sign in with
Your question

Good inexpensive cooling for 3570k in Haf 912?

Last response: in Overclocking
October 15, 2012 4:59:03 AM

Hello, I am completely new to overclocking was looking for a good, quality and inexpensive cooling solution(fan system and cpu heat-sink) for my first home-build(Has been in operation since July 2012).(I am unsure if I need additional cooling for my graphics card if I aggressively overclock it.)

CPU: Intel Core I-5 3570K
MOBO: MSI Z77A G-43
HDD: Hitachi Deskstar 2TB 64MB
RAM: Corsair Vengeance (2x4GB) 1866mhz
PSU: Thermaltake TR2 600w
GPU: MSI Twin Frozr 7870 OC Edition
BD-ROM: LG Black 14X BD-R...
Case: Cooler Master Haf 912
(coming soon: samsung 840 pro 128gb ssd)

(All the components are currently running on stock settings and stock cooling is present throughout the entire system.)

I wish to provide an effective cooling solution for my machine so that there would be good airflow for all parts giving priority to cpu and graphics. The highest I would go with the 3570k would be roughly 4.5ghz, but that would not be for a while as this system should have plenty of cpu for a while at stock speeds for my needs.

There is roughly a $50 budget on the system.($75 absolute maximum for everything, but would like to keep by $50.)

I have looked and asked around and have found these fans in the forums used on another Cooler Master Haf 912:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

The front two and side positions will be intake and the top two and back will be outflow.

I am a little more concerned about cpu heat-sink as the ivy bridge runs hot by design and the Haf 912 is not a particularly big case. I was recommended this heat-sink before, but am completely clueless on how to approach this situation. I have heard good thermal paste helps to improve performance and am pretty clueless there too.)

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...