Graphics Card "Sticking out" of the PC? (Helllp)

alpha107

Distinguished
Jan 28, 2010
Hey guys, just a little disclaimer. I am not incredibly pc/tech savvy so you'll have to bear with my "barbaric" descriptions and the like, haha.
So a few months back my PC (which was built "for gaming") had a major hard drive failure and was no longer usable.
So with that knowledge I went and bought myself a Gateway SX2800
As you can see from the picture, it is a very tiny PC and I had bought it with no intentions of PC gaming as almost all of my playtime is on the 360 now.
However, I recently started playing WoW again and would really like to put my old card into this rig (20 FPS FTL).
My problem is that the old card is very big for this tiny rig and if I were to put it in the Gateway, part of the card would be sticking out of the side and I would not be able to put all of the case back on.
My question is: If I were to put the old card in, even though it's too big for the case, would it have any chance of working or is it too big because it's not compatible?

To be specific, the old card I am trying to put in is a Radeon X1800 GTO. I am aware that my PC's PS is (I believe) 220w, and for the life of me I can not figure out if that is enough to handle the X1800.

If this is not feasible can someone suggest to me a good low profile GFX card for a reasonable price? BEAR IN MIND: I am not trying to play Crysis on max settings, I just want WoW with decent rates.
Thanks a bunch!

Ugh, another slimline situation. The standard answer (one size almost invariably fits all):

1. No, your card will not fit, and it's usually not a good idea to leave the case open

2. No, a 220W power supply will not power any card that's decent -- certainly not one that can keep up with a quad core CPU

3. No, you're pretty much screwed when it comes to finding a decent power supply for a slimline system.