Sign in with
Your question

Is Water cooling worth the trouble?

Last response: in Overclocking
October 20, 2012 3:38:30 AM

When I mean water cooling, I mean 2 types : a) The custom loop, b) closed loops like H100 or Thermalright water 2.0 Extreme.

I am building a brand new 3930K system and I'm a bit puzzled as to what I should do. I am reading the reviews of these air heatsink coolers like Thermalright silver arrow extreme and I'm amazed that they can come to 2-3C of water cooling systems. The problem with the water cooled systems, especially the closed loop ones like H100 are:

* Reliability : I am reading way too many posts about these failing. Imagine $2,500 worth of hardware being ruined. I currently have a Thermalright Ultra Extreme - 120 heatsink that I have been using for 6 years on a Q6600 CPU that's running at 50% overclock, since the day I bought it. It's extremely quiet and efficient. Will I be able to use H100 for my 3930K overclocking it to 4.6 Ghz for the next 5 years? It sounds really unreliable if you think about it.

* So much work : The custom loops are ridiculous, they are so ridiculous that only a person who does this as a hobby and have a lot of free time on their hand should deal with this.

* The temperature difference : The new heatsinks are so efficient that is it really worth doing all of this for 2-3C? I also see that H100 and Thermalright Water 2.0 Extreme have much worse noise levels than Silver Arrow Extreme when they cool at maximum levels (which is how they get that 2-3C margin).

Thanks for the comments!
a b K Overclocking
October 20, 2012 3:55:59 AM

so much work? you have to change the water every month or so, and you could use a killcoil which could go a long time without having to be changed

one member on here (amuffin) is running 5.1GHz on his sandy bridge CPU (on a custom loop) which would be far too much for an air cooler/prebuilt watercooler
m
l
October 20, 2012 4:10:56 AM

nna2 said: