Mr_E

Distinguished
Dec 30, 2009
Greeting Tom's Hardware Patrons, about a month ago I started researching a build to replace a 7 year old Dell Dimension 8250. Here are the results of my efforts (and the help of the Tom's Hardware community, helping me pick the best components for my needs and budget.) Without further ado...

Casewindowview.jpg

External view of my new build, ignore the messy wires on the desk.

Interiorwiresrouted2.jpg

Inside, be gentle it is my first build and I'm sure I could have done a better job routing wires but I'm happy with it.

Casemessywires.jpg

Wire routing side, this is before I grouped and organized the "routed" wires.

Hiddenpanelwiresrouted.jpg

I finished grouping and routing the wires. The side panel slides on nicely.

Sadly, I’m back on the Dell as the Sapphire 5870 was acting up and after talking with ATI they recommended I RMA the card back to Newegg. So for now I have a paper weight with 6 fans. Hopefuly Newegg will get me a replacement ASAP.

Bummer on the card, but that looks really nice. Great Job! I have the Antec 300, so I'm a bit more cramped (and my wiring is a little worse).

Trust me though, once you get your 5870 back you will be amazed by that computer. What was your 5870 doing?

Mr_E

Distinguished
Dec 30, 2009