New System for New builder v2 (high end gaming)

cythx

Distinguished
Jan 29, 2010
Save yourself £30 and get a seriously good PSU: Antec CP850 850W Modular PSU £101.60. Review. The only reason not to get that Antec one is if you want to be able to use it in a future system in a different case AND the CPX form factor doesn't catch on.
Don't really have much to say about the rest considering that I didn't see your other thread.

foolycooly

Distinguished
Dec 26, 2008
looks like a very solid build. You obviously don't need a monitor or OS or any other peripherals? I was going to suggest a different set of RAM, but that one has very good timings at a good price--I can't comment on its quality though as I've never used any Patriot RAM before.

cythx

Distinguished
Jan 29, 2010
And yes Fooly I need EVERYTHING else lol, OS, KB, Mouse, Sound System, Headset, Moustmat and a Monitor.

Quick Question, If i get one of the 120 Mhz monitors, will running it at 120 Mhz reduce my fps on games?

I gotta echo Silvie on the CP-850 ..... not putting a CP-850 in there would be criminal :) ... The 1200 is a CPX form factor case and the CP-850 is made specifically for that case on two others (P193 / P183)

Don't get me wrong, electrically the HC850 is an extremely high performance PSU.....but not only does the CP-850 match it electrically, it's also quieter than the HX.....not to mention $70 cheaper than the HX. The CP-850 makes the Editpr's Choice List at http://www.silentpcreview.com/article699-page1.html whereas the HX gets rated a notch down on the recommended list. The corresponding jonnyguru reviews are listed below:

http://www.jonnyguru.com/modules.php?name=NDReviews&op=Story5&reid=153
http://www.jonnyguru.com/modules.php?name=NDReviews&op=Story4&reid=142