Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Z68 - SRT cache and boot volume on single SSD disk - full success!

Last response: in Storage
February 8, 2012 7:43:58 AM

OK, here goes, i'm setting up an upgrade system -:
Case Fractal Define XL V3
Seasonic 1Kw PSU
M/B Asrock Extreme 7 Gen 3 6xSATA3 4 x SATA 2
CPU Intel 2600K
Ram 16GB Ripjaws 2133 CL9
HDD 6 x 2TB 4 x 1.5TB 1 x 1TB 1 x 0.75TB (old boot disk)
2 x 60GB SSD (SATA II) 1 x Blu ray burner
Asus internal 2 x Sata III 2 x USB 3 (PCIe 4 x)
Internal 4 port Sata 2 (PCIe 1x)
Dual digital TV tuner card
Fatality pro soundblaser Soundcard
Video GTX 570
monitors 2 x 24" 1920 x 1200

SO i'm new to the abilities of the Z68 to speed up boot and load times,
so......

Should i make 1 RAID SSD of 120GB, then split to 2 partitions, 1 cache the other OS + a few main apps
or 2 separate SSD's with cache on 1 and OS onth eother
OR should i use them as "shadow" cache for the boot drive ?
and if so 1 x RAID or separate, with one used for ...?
well you tell me..
a c 308 G Storage
February 8, 2012 9:47:18 AM

The current advice is to get the largest capacity solid state drive you can afford. Install Microsoft Windows 7, software applications, and utilities on the ssd. Save data files to hard disk drives. You would have to be doing very special professional or scientific work to justify a RAID array. If you are a gamer a RAID array will not improve gameplay. In addition the Microsoft Windows TRIM command does not support ssd's in a RAID array.

It's been a while since someone has asked about Intel Smart Response technology. It is an old technology from a few years ago. Here is my standard answer about using an ssd as a cache: