Sign in with
Your question

My cpu temperatures sound about right for config?

Last response: in Overclocking
October 24, 2012 1:48:40 PM

I have just bought a phenom ii 965, and i bought a corsair h60. I have just installed it using the pre-applied thermal paste from the corsair h60, i have a micro atx cooler master elite 342 case and i have installed the water cooler at the front. My temperatures are 53 degrees celsius while playing bad company 2. Does this sound about right, or average for people with this level processor and cpu cooler? It's not overclocked it's on stock frequency. I think it may be unfortunate that i have installed it on the front because it blows hot air to my graphics card, but fortunate than installing it on back because it pulls in true fresh air from the front of the case, not from the back near the power supply and rear case fan pushing out hot air.
a c 328 K Overclocking
October 24, 2012 2:00:15 PM

Those are relatively normal temps...what about load temps using Prime95? Also, the air coming through your radiator isn't going to be that hot...so it's not going to be heating up your GPU. If you have good case airflow, you likely wouldn't notice any change in GPU temps from normal.
a b K Overclocking
October 24, 2012 2:04:13 PM

Those temps sound good to me. Ideally you do want fresh air coming across your radiator, but many people mount them on the rear of the case with a lot of success. Is your graphics card running too hot? You may want to try both locations to see what the temperature difference actually is.
Related resources
October 24, 2012 2:16:35 PM