Sign in with
Your question

Budget Gaming PC build advice

Last response: in Systems
February 6, 2010 2:41:40 AM

Brand new contributor, but long time reader. If I break any rules/guidelines, please feel free to let me know.

I haven't upgraded since 2007 because I've been able to play whatever came out just fine, but those days are over. I want to be able to play the newest generation of games, starting w/ BFBC2.

I'm looking for some advice. I know the basics - been building my own for almost 10 years now - but I'm no expert. My budget is somewhat flexible, I want to keep it as low as possible but I want it to last for a couple years too. I don't need to be head of the class - I just want to play the next gen games on better than low settings.

As a frame of reference, my current system is: (I know it's bad - but it's 3 years old)
Case: Antec Nine Hundred
PS: Antec 750W TP Trio
Mobo: DFI LanParty UT NF4 SLI-DR Expert
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 4000+ @ 2.76 GHz
Mem: 3 GB Corsair DDR PC3200
GPU: Nvidia Geforce 8800 GTS 640MB
HDD: 36 GB Raptor; 250 GB Seagate 7200RPM
Monitor: HP 2009m (1600x900)

Here's where I'm at for the new rig:
APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: Within the next 2 weeks.
BUDGET RANGE: Flexible, but goal is under $1K. Not worried about rebates.
SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: Gaming, internet surfing, occasional movie.
PARTS NOT REQUIRED: Keyboard, mouse, monitor, speakers.
PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: Newegg
COUNTRY OF ORIGIN: USA
PARTS PREFERENCES: AMD, Antec, ASUS, but flexible. I admit that I am kind of "brand biased" - I will pay more for ASUS vs. ASRock, for example.
OVERCLOCKING: Maybe, but I've been buying low and OC'ing for years, and I kind of just want a solid setup from the get go.
SLI OR CROSSFIRE: Maybe
MONITOR RESOLUTION: 1600x900
ADDITIONAL COMMENTS: Much more intrested in function than form, excepting the aforementioned brand-ism.

Here's what I have so far:
Case: Antec Three Hundred Illusion (69.99)
PS: Antec CP-850 850W (109.31)