Sign in with
Your question

Gaming PC Build

Last response: in Systems
February 6, 2010 4:41:44 AM

Aighty, this is going to take me a little to get 100% completed, as it's a few questions, but I'll get the basics up now:

Part 1: Parts Summary

This will be posted tomorrow via edit (sorry, it's almost 2 am, we just got 14 inches of snow and it isn't done, and I have 4 driveways to do tomorrow morning, lol)

Part 2: Case Conundrum

I'm looking for a good mid tower case. I'm thinking the Antec 900 or Antec 902, or possibly the Thermaltake Armor MX. I would love to go with an Antec 1200 or a Thermaltake Spedo, except that my desks PC cavity limits that. In any event, I need a case that works well with water cooling.

Part 3: Water Cooling

I've NEVER done this before... I'm looking at liquid cooling the entire rig, and using a rear mounted tri-radiator to exhaust heat. The reason for this is my desk has a sweet way to hide the PC, and has good airflow, but a perfect exhaust port out the rear. My previous PC was loud as a jet engine, and I've always wanted to try liquid cooling.

I need a few good, helpful guides for newcomers (so much of what I've found is all advanced stuff that leaves me going bwu-huhwha?) as well as some info for whats required:

Tank - duh
Pump(s) - more than one?
Flow Meter / Temp Sensor - good/bad idea?
Tubing - duh
CPU/GPU water blocks - figure these are the staples
North Bridge / South Bridge waterblocks - important if I'm going with near-zero air cooling?
RAM/HD coolers - again, with little to no airflow, are these going to need cooled?
PSU cooler - I've seen a few... wtf and do I need to worry about this?
Sound Card cooler - do these even exist?

Looking at what I've seen, it seems a hybrid liquid system for the heat intensive stuff (CPU, GPU, NB/SB, and RAM) with some basic air cooling for the HD's, PSU, and the like is best - true/false? How do I determine what kind of thermal capacity I need?

Part 4 - Overall Build Quality