Sign in with
Your question
Solved

AMD Phenom II x4 955 BE newbie question

Last response: in Overclocking
October 27, 2012 9:14:33 PM

Hello,
First off, I am new to overclocking, so I thought I better ask people who are more advanced than me, before doing stupid things.
I read Dolk's guide to overlocking AMD Phenom II, but I didn't really understood how to do all of it properly....

First of all here's my specs (only using AMD OverDrive to do OC tests in the OS, will set the final values in BIOS after):
https://dl.dropbox.com/u/31808218/Specs.PNG
*CPU: AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition 3.2 GHz
*RAM: 2x4GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3
*GPU: ATI HD 4890 1GB
*PSU: Corsair Professional 850W

My goal is to reach 3.6-3.7 GHz, which isn't much I know, but that's still something, especially because I am using the stock cooler.

So, according to that guide, I first need to increase my CPU multiplier up to X18.5 (200*18.5=3700), then set the voltage to about 1.45 (not quite sure what this value should be like), set the CPU-NB multiplier to 12 (200*12=2400), and finally increase the CPU-NB voltage to 1.3V ? Now, I jsut need to run some tests like Prime95, and see if I don't crash or anything, and then I'm good to go?
If not, can someone explain, or help me out with what I should be doing?

Also, one other note: I noticed in AMD OverDrive that my DRAM frequency is set to 667 MHz (Speccy seems bugged) , and I was wondering if that was normal, because I remember that my RAM was advertised at 1600 MHz (Similar to the one over here). Should I change anything about it for the overlock aswell?

Thanks, and sorry I asked some obvious questions :whistle: 

Best solution

a c 78 à CPUs
a b À AMD
a b K Overclocking
October 28, 2012 2:05:31 AM

Too many variables at once.

First thing you need to do is get better cooling. Good examples are TX3 for smaller cases and hyper 212+ if you have room in your case.

Now to your overclock....