Sign in with
Your question

Cpu + gpu overclock, power problem?

Last response: in Overclocking
October 29, 2012 7:14:25 PM

Hi everyone, 

I'm not experienced a lot in overclocking so I have behavior that I don't understand and thats stopping me from overclocking more.

Start from the beginning i had a 700w ocz power supply. When I overclocked my e8400 cpu to 3.6 and my gtx 260 core clock to 680 I was stable when running gpu bencmark but while gaming my coreclock was randomly  getting down and my fps was down until I restarted. 

After some search I understood that my gpu drived was crasing when my cpu was under heavy load. So I used prime95 blend test and kombuster at the same time and my driver crashed always until I got my gpu core clock to 640 mhz. That was desapointing, but I was sure that it was a power issues.

So i changed my psu ( that I tough was really enough before these incident) to a high current pro 850W.

Received it, mounted it and with prime 95 blend test at the same time as kombustor I can get my gpu coreclock to 700 mhz.

But if I do a intel burn test paired with kombustor the driver crash.

Am I testing too much? Is that something i'm missing?

E8400 3.6 ghz with 1.2v under bios.

I would like to push it to 4ghz but for stability in 100% cpu + 100% gpu i would have to push my gpu not near as far as now.

Sorry for the long post and the bad english ( not my first langage )
a b U Graphics card
a b K Overclocking
a c 78 à CPUs
October 30, 2012 12:48:18 AM

You are testing under more strenuous conditions than I ever have.

Try each test individually. Then play some demanding video games. (check your max temps from each session.)

If all is well. Enjoy your rig.
m
l
October 30, 2012 3:04:53 PM

Ok, thank you Z1NONLY,

I made these test because it helped me find the problem I was getting while playing some cpu demanding game.

When I play Borderland 2 my cpu is always near 100%.