RedMonarch

Distinguished
Mar 29, 2010
hi everyone, well im currently thinking about changing my graphic card and im not sure if my motherboard supports it, i have an ASUS P5SD2-VM
, Intel Core 2 Duo E7300 and a 600w power supply.

Look

Distinguished
Mar 15, 2010
What power supply do you have? The 5850 uses two 6-pin PCI-E power connectors, and your 9600GT only needs one. A splitter (included with the card) will work, but it requires 2x 4-pin molex connectors. The minimum recommended wattage for a single 5850 is 500W as well.

RedMonarch

Distinguished
Mar 29, 2010
i have a coolermaster 600w power supply. Well ive been researching a bit and i think the best solution is the ati radeon hd 5830 it has almost the same as the hd 5850 and it cos like 60 dolares less. What do you guy think?.
PS im currently thinking on ati cause i dont want to change my power supply for a bigger one

Look

Distinguished
Mar 15, 2010
Either card will work, however your dual core may bottleneck the 58xx cards. Someone here can confirm/deny this, but I think that dual core is dated. Your PSU should be good, do you have the amperages for the 12v rail?

cobot

Distinguished
Jun 15, 2008

The 5830 is not a great buy, it is overpriced and performs closer to the 5770 than the 5850 while still being a large as the 5870 and using more power than the 5850...

Some say that can be compensate for by overclocking, but I'd still go for the 5850...

randomkid

Distinguished

That's a good way to go... But when you said you want the hd5830 is this because you thought it is enough for your current monitor resolution? What is you monitor resolution by the way?

Get the 5850 the 5830 is a bad choice also your Coolermaster PSU might not be up to the challenge yea it says 600 watt but I doubt it will put out even 500 watts they have been known to blow up when pushed to hard and will most likely take something with it when it goes.