Asus vs Gigabyte

Cralis

Distinguished
Feb 8, 2010
I'm about to buy a new CPU/Motherboard/Memory.

I'm getting the AMD AM3 955 4X processor - but wondering which of these two motherboards I should gte:

Gigabyte MA770T-UD3 (This One)

or

Asus M4A78LT-M LE (This one)

My power supply is not new, but has a 20 pin power plug, as well as a 4 pin power plug. I'm pretty sure the Gigabyte board handles that. Not 100% sure if the Asus does. The Asus is $10 cheaper.

Solution
:lol: I see.

Well, enjoy your new computer and be sure to post back with any results/questions.

By the way, what is the power supply (your existing one) and graphics card?
Either should handle the old power plug fine. I have a couple computers using that Gigabyte board and from my experience, I would highly recommend it. That said, Asus makes solid boards as well, so either would probably be excellent (though I have no experience for that specific Asus board).

Cralis

Distinguished
Feb 8, 2010
Thanks EXT64 .

I think I'll go Gigabyte then... Most people I speak to seem to lean slightly towards them. As for the video - not really going to use onboard, so maybe the Gigabyte is better in that regard as well. Going to use the stock cooler that comes with the chip. Won't overclock or anything with that though. Hope it's still OK. Temps where the PC sits get to 34 degrees (C) sometimes..

Thanks for the help.

Well, i used to be an Asus person, and then for whatever reason I went Gigabyte. Now, 6+ Gigabyte boards later they have never given me a good reason to leave them.

The stock cooler should do ok, just might not be the quietest thing.

Cralis

Distinguished
Feb 8, 2010
Ok, Maybe 80% success.

I have an issue though. :(

Pre upgrade, I was running 2 x 250Gb SATA drives, plus one 750 Gb Sata.