Sign in with
Your question

SAS HDD Firmware Flash

Last response: in Storage
February 13, 2012 3:05:47 PM

Hello all - first time poster, long time reader hoping for some guidance in SAS HDD Firmware Flashing.

I have been tasked with putting together a system that will be able to flash SAS HDD Firmware with a specific customer-chosen version.
I have no experience working with SAS / SCSI / RAID system setup and I've never flashed the firmware on a HDD.

I'm hoping to get some guidance into what kind of hardware and software will be needed to accomplish this task. After some cursory research, I know I'll need a SAS Controller Card of some sort just to connect the drives, but beyond that I'm lost..

I'm currently looking at the SUPERMICRO AOC-SASLP-MV8 PCI Express x4 Low Profile SAS RAID Controller - based mainly on cost, since I really have no idea what functionality I will require. More than likely I will be flashing the drives one at a time - correct me if I'm wrong here.
On top of that I've narrowed down cabling needed to connect the SAS drives to the controller card - SFF-8087 to SFF-8482.

Can anyone provide hardware / software setup required to accomplish this task?
I have already assembled a possible bare-bones PC setup from old scrap hardware lying around after a recent PC upgrade - Foxconn LS-36 mobo with an Intel Pentium 4 3.0ghz CPU and 4gb of DDR PC5300 memory. I have some spare SATA drives lying around to plug in if needed, as well as DVD-ROM drives, USB Flash drives for storage / installation software.
I've no idea if this motherboard and CPU combination will handle / support what needs to be done, honestly, but I'm guessing that since it has the proper slot for the Controller card I should have no issues..

Thank you for any assistance you can provide in advance.

-SW

More about : sas hdd firmware flash

February 14, 2012 1:56:10 PM