FSB freq higher than NB chipset freq......major issue?

JLiRD808

Honorable
Feb 20, 2012
Ok I'm a beginner OC'er I suppose, only my 2nd chip I've tried.

My mobo has pretty limited OC'ing capabilities. I can adjust the FSB frequency but NOT the NB ratio/frequency.

In SiSandra, it says my chipset's max supported freq is (2x2ghz = 4gz) on this MSI board.

Im trying to OC a 1055t. But even the subtlest increase in the CPU FSB seems to push it over the max chipset freq. It's a 2.8, and bumping it up even to just 3.12 gave me an error in Sandra (2x2.23 = 4.46ghz). It seems to run stable, but I havent tested or pushed it too hard.

Again, Im a noob...so flame me if u will. Im ready for a new mobo and can probably not worry about this. Any thoughts though?

Solution
well, your ram is the same as me too. ddr2-800. later i will upgrade to ddr3-1366 cuz mine can use ddr2 and ddr3 ram.

yeah, you should increase your cpu voltage (not memory voltage!!, unless you want to oc the ram too). but keep it at safe setting (mostly not over 1.5V), depends your cpu.
increase your bus speed every 5~10MHz and check for stability. once you have reached unstable cpu, increase the voltage. also, watch the temp (not over than your max cpu temp - 5~10C) too. repeat these steps till your cpu cannot oc anymore. finally, decrease the bus speed about 5~10MHz for stability and check for stability. some cpu are different max oc even with same model. but, i believe you can oc at least at 3.4GHz of something.
IMPORTANT!! i...

Ikmalhidayat

Honorable
Aug 30, 2012
anyhow, could you find voltage setting or overvolt setting? that one is to adjust the voltage for the cpu in which can increase the stability for higher overclock, but increases the temp, cause short lifespan. if you not care for damage your mobo (cuz you have/will have the new mobo), you can set the oc as high as you want and sees the unstable, damage mobo and also the psu.