riched

Distinguished
Feb 9, 2010
Hi there,

I built a PC a while ago (from memory about 2 years ago?) and am presently on hols in HK with a chance of visiting the local computer centres for some components. Therefore, I'd like some advice on whether it's worth upgrading any of my components.

I should first add that I'm very new to overclocking and have not yet overclocked my PC even though I'm aware it has much potential to do so. I was planning on using the PC on base spec until it was on its last legs, then overclock to get more use of of it. Therefore, I assume many of the responses will be along the lines of "don't upgrade, but overclock instead". I'd appreciate any tips on this too, although realise I should raise this sub-question in a different forum category.

However, this is my present spec so if there are any glaring areas that would be better to upgrade than overclock, then let me know. In terms of budget, I'd probably be looking at upgrading just one, perhaps two, components (e.g. new memory, new graphics card), but probably won't be able to stretch to more than one or two components. Again, a range of advice would be good (e.g. if it makes more sense to upgrade both memory and graphics to mid-range spec rather than graphics only to higher spec).

MB : Asus P5K Deluxe
Memory : 4GB Corsair...Unfortunately I don't have the details handy on what I brought now!
CPU : Intel Q6600 2.4GHz
Graphics : 8800GT (again, can't recall the make)
HHD : Can't recall from memory!
Sound : X-Fi Gamer
Monitor : Samsung 20" (not helping here...no model number again!)
PSU : Antec Truepower Trio TP3-650
Case : Antec P180

I'm very much into gaming, so am primarily concerned with gaming performance.

From reading some areas of the forum, I understand upgrading CPU to Q9650 / Q9550 would not really gain much compared with overclocking the Q6600. I guess more RAM wouldn't go amiss, although for gaming I expect the most beneficial upgrade will be Graphics card.