Help with series v parallel graphics set ups needed

MagR

Distinguished
Aug 31, 2009
Hi

I’m relatively new to watercooling and want to learn more. I run two graphics cards in sli and don’t really understand the difference in setting them up in series or parallel. (I vaguely remember series v parallel from physics O level with electricity but that is a long, long time ago!). I think I understand what happens just not how the set up varies. My understanding is if you switch from series to parallel you halve the restriction from the graphics waterblocks but also halve the resulting flow through the blocks.

I initially had my cards set up in series I think. Water entered the top or first card then passed through a single sli connector tube to the bottom or second card then left via the second card. To facilitate tubing up my loop I switched to what I think is a parallel system. Water both enters and leaves via the top card and there are two sli connector tubes to the bottom card. There is no measurable temperature difference between the two set ups.

What I want to know is are there any variations which could help the layout of my loops in future. For example if I use a single sli connector but have the water both entering and leaving by the same card is that still a series set up ( or will it implode?). If I use two sli connectors with water entering through one card and leaving through another is that still a parallel set up? Clarification from someone more experienced than me would be appreciated.