Sign in with
Your question

AsRock vs Gigabyte motherboard for my 3D apps with an i7-930?

Last response: in Motherboards
September 19, 2010 7:53:30 PM

I'm picking up an i7-930 and wanting to know which of these two motherboards is preferred? I'm a 3D artist running high memory apps and music production software. I'll be using a PNY Quadro FX 4500 PCI-E graphics card and two raptors on a raid configuration with at least 6GB RAM to start on Win7 64bit. I'm trying to build this system using some components from an older system (graphics, raptors, and power supply coming from older system). Money is definitely being taken into consideration. I can't spend more than $250 for a motherboard.

Here's the two options, so far, that I have. Both are using 1366 sockets
1) ASROCK x58 Extreme Motherboard
2) Gigabyte GA-X58A ATX Motherboard.

Input please from everyone?

Thanks!
a b V Motherboard
September 19, 2010 8:30:39 PM

I assume you mean the Gigabyte UD3R. That board is highly rated.

"Asrock" is Asus' economy line, and the Asrock Extreme board should work well for you too.

If you meant the Asrock Extreme 3, it has USB and SATA 3 support, and is closer in price to the Gigabyte.
Related resources
September 20, 2010 2:46:32 AM

Thanks for the input. Yes, I'm sorry...I did mean the UD3R. A friend recommended the Asrock board and I just realized he nor I specified. I'm actually not sure which one of these he meant?

http://www.pricewatch.com/gallery/motherboards/socket_1...

I have quite a few sata drives and use a ton of usb music controllers, instruments, and other peripherals, etc.... I also need to place a virtual XP Pro OS on my system to run some of my older software.

Knowing any of this additional info does it change either of your minds?

Sounds like Proximon that you would go for that Asus and Twoboxer you might lean towards the Asrock Extreme 3?

I appreciate any and all info/opinions. Thanks.

a b V Motherboard
September 20, 2010 4:43:17 AM