Sharing Wireless with 2 Neighboring Houses?

joshhemming

Distinguished
Apr 4, 2010
Me, my nextdoor neighbor (40 yards max), and my neighbor directly across the street (75 yards) each still have dial-up Internet, those two on AOL and me on NetZero. If viewed from above, the locations of the 3 single-story brick houses would form a right triangle. We were discussing the possiblility of sharing one cable Broadband Internet connection. However, none of us have ever used wireless and we don't have the foggiest idea of where to start, what equipment we need, and how to connect our computers together. I'm sure we would need routers and wifi antennas, but which ones and do we EACH need them? And how can we secure/encrypt the connection so that only the 3 of us can use it?

As I stated, we're total novices so if you use a lot of acronyms or tech jargon you'll probably lose us. Can you just tell us in plain english what we need to add to our respective computers, suggest some models that would be adequate for our purposes, and give us some general idea how to do the setups to make the connections?

Did I mention we're NOVICES???

If it makes any difference, I'm using a Dell desktop and the neighbors both use PC laptops. I think we all have Windows XP home edition. I use McAfee Total Protection 2010; not sure what particular anti-virus software the other two use.

To save you money, you need an obliging friend who already owns a wireless router. Without even bothering to plug it into the telephone system, that friend needs to power it up and in your property then you need to check that the laptops in the other two houses can "see" the signal it transmits. The reason for doing it that way round is because your PC probably doesn't have a wireless transmitter but can be cabled to the router. The laptops, however, probably do have wireless built in and so long as they are enabled, they should be able to determine whether the signal is getting through.