MaizeNBlue2

Distinguished
Jan 29, 2010
Hey guys,

I got my system up and running, but and everything seems fine. I started Prime95 to stress test it, and only 2 of the 8 virtual cores has made it through more than 1 minute.

My build specs are here: Video Editing/Rendering PC Build

Workers #1, 3, 4, 5, 7, & 8 have all stopped after less than 1 minute. The error they give is: "FATAL ERROR: Rounding was 0.5, expected less than 0.4"

My temps look normal, so I'm not sure what to make of this. I've never used it before. Any advice you can give is greatly appreciate. Thanks in advance for the help.

Edit: Just so you guys no, I haven't overclocked or anything. If you need more information, let me know and I'll get it to you.

Solution

It might only be one 'stick' of RAM that is causing the issue, or more problematically one memory slot....

Time consuming, but try one piece of your RAM in slot 0, run memtest... Repeat with RAM 2, same slot, etc, then if all pass try slot 1 and re-test. Repeat until you have either found a defective piece of RAM, or a defective slot. PITA, but a professional likes to be thorough...
did you set your ram voltages and timings properly? OCZ memory generally requires more than 1.5V, since its a triple channel kit i would bet on it needing the full 1.65V to get stable. Set the voltages and timings manually and try again, hopefully that will fix it.

MaizeNBlue2

Distinguished
Jan 29, 2010

I appreciate the quick reply. I looked at the timings, etc. in BIOS, but there were a lot more options than I expected. I guess I'll look around and see if I can find a guide for setting the timings manually.

If you can offer any insight as to which options need to be changed, that would be great. Thanks again for your help.