Sign in with
Your question

Watercooling a PS3, some help needed!

Last response: in Overclocking
November 11, 2012 10:42:57 AM

First of all I'd like to say Hello! to everyone here. This is my first time posting and hopefully not the last!

Now, I've undertaken a project which might not be the easiest one but it's sort of an "exercise" for building a water cooling loop for when I get my PC next year.

I've started modding my PS3. I've already repainted it Click here. This is the basic colour scheme for my Playstation. I like how it turned out. It's my first time repainting something, so don't be too harsh! :) 

I've already made a list of parts that I am going to use. But the thing is that I really wanted to know what waterblocks are compatible with the PS3's chips. I've seen Alphacool's dedicated PS3 waterblock and have also seen people use Koolance's GPU-200 blocks (2 of those) for both the CPU and GPU. Is there anything else I can use or am I pretty much limited to that? I've seen universal block but I'm not sure they'll fit.

Here is what I am going with (my build is Koolance only)

Pump: Koolance PMP-450
Reservoir: Pump Fitting & Reservoir Base for the PMP-450 with a 60x200mm reservoir (cylindrical, top mounted)
Radiator: HX-720 240mm, 18FPI, Aluminium.
Fans for the radiator: I just got two Thermaltake AF0030 Red LED fans, 120mm. They run at 1800+-10% RPM. I've already test them and the airflow is good! And they go with my overall colour scheme.
Power Supply: since I'm not sure if there is any other way to do this, I got a 350W power supply from a friend of mine.

As for the Tubing I'm not really sure. 1/2'' ID seems huge to me. But it should give good flow. Any ideas on this? Because I can't get my fittings before I decide on the tubing! It's also going to be UV reactive! :)