Sign in with
Your question

I am split between GPUs... Help/Opinion needed...

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
February 4, 2010 3:29:48 PM

Noob here...

Ok i recently bought a Compaq CQ5320 from OfficeDepot cheap. I will upgrade the GPU and PSU but im stuck between these 2 cards...

The Ati 4870 and the Nvidia GTX 260 (216). As of now, im using a 1360 X 768 res but i want one of these cards because i plan to get a higher res monitor amd want a smooth framerate. Just FYI, i can get both within the same price rage of $150 - 160.

Ill be doing some gaming, HTPC and some video conversion.

Here are my questions...
1 - Which one is generally more compatible/reliable? I hear some things about Ati that make me nervous, especially with the 5000 series issues.
2 - Would having a AMD CPU make a difference with a Nvidia/Ati GPU? Example: Increased/decreased performance.
3 - Video conversion: IIRC Nvidia uses the CPU along with the GPU while the Ati GPU mainly uses the GPU. Would my CPU hinder the 260s conversion?
4 - The Corsair PSU i want to buy has only one PCI-E power connector and these cards have 2 power connectors. Do both need to be connected to power the card? If so, what do i do with the other slot with the PSUs 1 PCI-E connected?
5 - Overall, which one should i get?

Thank you for your time.
a b U Graphics card
February 4, 2010 3:53:16 PM

1 - You shouldn't notice any difference
2 - See #1
3 - Don't know ... although in either case, I think the video card would be more powerful than that CPU, and the CPU would be the weak link in the system
4 - Yes, both connectors need to be plugged in for those cards or they won't run. Don't buy the Corsair power supply. Definitely get one with two 6-pin power connectors. It's possible to jury-rig two molex (4-pin) power connectors to work as a 6-pin, but that's not a good long-term solution. If you're buying a power supply new, get one that has enough connectors.