Solved

Cracked CPU fan - replacement?

Hey, I have a hyper tx2 coolermaster CPU cooler, but my fan is cracked on it and now it makes a loud cracking noise when it spins. I'm looking to replace it, but I'm not sure what I need. This is what I have: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835103031R&cm_re=hyper_tx2-_-35-103-031R-_-Product

It says 92mm fan... can I just get any fan that size? I'm looking at some but they say "case fan", so I'm not sure if that would work. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

edit: Also, any suggestions on how to fix a cracked CPU fan? There is just a slight crack in the center of the fan; I was just going to throw some tape on it and hope it at least muffles the sound if nothing else.
7 answers Last reply Best Answer
More about cracked replacement
  1. Best answer
    Here's a nice variable speed PWM fan that will work:

COOLER MASTER R4-BM9S-28PK-R0 Blade Master 92mm Case Fan $8.99

It even says "Recommended for Hyper TX3, Hyper N 520, Hyper TX2, Vortex 752 and other 92mm CPU coolers" in the Newegg description.
  2. Best answer selected by billtimbob.
  3. Any one will work but you will want to make sure it has a 3 or 4 pin connector and not a molex connector in order to not get an error about the CPU fan not working - This is a replacement that is the same as what came with the heatsink
  4. Awesome, exactly what I was looking for but couldn't find. I actually just slapped some tape on the fan and now it's not making the noise anymore, and it doesn't seem to be affecting any airflow either. So I think I'll hold off on the new fan, but good to know if I ever need it. Thanks.
  5. Is it duct tape? It's not an official technicians fix unless you used duct tape. ;-)
  6. shortstuff_mt said:
    Here's a nice variable speed PWM fan that will work:

COOLER MASTER R4-BM9S-28PK-R0 Blade Master 92mm Case Fan $8.99