Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in
Your question

In windows xp after deleting can it appear again or it is permanently deleted

Last response: in Windows XP
Share
October 1, 2012 11:33:01 AM
October 1, 2012 2:55:35 PM

Typically, a file is only flagged for deletion though the actual data still exists on the drive. There is just no more pointer to the file thus no way to access it other than with recovery software. NOTE: Now that the file is marked deleted, any new writes to the drive can over write the physical space that was marked deleted by the old file. At this point recovery is impossible.

Some special delete programs will over write the file with zeros after marking the file deleted in order to perform a more secure erase of the file.
m
0
l
Related resources
!