Computer system alternatives -Premiere Pro CS4

arun3101

Distinguished
Feb 12, 2010
I will be using Premiere Pro CS4 and Photoshop CS4 on this computer (will upgrade to CS5 when released if it is going to be a substantial upgrade like the CS4). My current computer upgrade is to make my life easy while working with Premier Pro. I marked the parts I chose with a (1) but am considering the second alternative (2)
I would like the system to be decently fast without me spending $400-$500 extra for a small increase in speed. .(At the same time, I do not want to save $400-500 and have frustration. Given this and the fact that while this is a serious hobby, I am not a Pro (I do not charge money for my work), can you please suggest if I can safely downgrade to the second alternative (or should upgrade - in case of the blu ray burner). Your knowledge help me immensely.

Thanks

Processor:

(1) Intel Core i7 QUAD CORE 920 2.66GHz 8MB 130W (Socket 1366 45nm)
versus
(2) Intel Core i7 QUAD CORE 860 (Lynnfield) 2.8GHz 8MB 95W (Socket 1156 45nm)

Memory:
(1)12 GB Ram
versus
(2) 8 GB RAM

DVD Burner:
(1)Pioneer 22X DVD-RW SATA (black)
versus
(2) Pioneer 12X Blu-ray Burner SATA (black)

blackjellognomes

Distinguished
Feb 17, 2009
What's your budget? For a non-professional system, you probably won't notice the difference between a $100 Athlon II X4, and a $300 i7. The amount of RAM will have a greater impact on system performance. How long to you plan to keep this PC before a full upgrade? Only if you plan on using this for 4+ yrs without upgrades would I suggest an i7 for your needs.

arun3101

Distinguished
Feb 12, 2010
I will definitely keep this for four to five years. My budget is in the $3000-$3500 range, but it helps to go with less, if I can.