PC speed-up on the cheap (ie free)

byronape

Honorable
Nov 13, 2012
Hey...

IT professional here, but I have no experience with Overclocking and would like to do some baseline improvements to my pc on the cheap. I have not done much gaming, and that really isn't my focus since I never have the time for it anymore. Mostly running Office apps, web, cd burning, photo editing... nothing hard core enough to justify spending any real money on new hardware.

Components:
MB - ECS A785GM-AD3
CPU - AMD Athlon II X4 635 2.9Ghz AM3 CPU with stock fan
GPU - Zotac GeForce 9500 GT 1GB PCIe
RAM - OCZ OCZ3G1333LV4GK Gold 4GB PC10666 1333Mhz
RAM - Kingston 2x2GB generic 1333Mhz RAM that I salvaged from a broken system that works fine (and yes, I know mixing RAM can cause funny stuff, but been stable so far)
Case - Gigabyte X2 ATX Mid Tower Case with 1 120MM case fan ( http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=4975064 )
PSU - Rosewill 430W 80 Plus Certified (it may be a 530w, I can't remember since it was migrated out of an older pc. Works fine.)
OS - Win 7 Pro, 64-Bit

(Yeah, I know, the hardware is pretty dated and wasn't that great to begin with. It was all ordered in Sept. 2010 while I was in school and I spent less than $350 on it.

I recently moved the OS to a Samsung 128GB SSD and that gave me a noticeable speed jump, but it's still not quite enough yet. Also have a 500 GB WD HDD for bulk storage.