Status
Not open for further replies.

redneck4087

Distinguished
Feb 13, 2012
I have a new build but im not 100% sure on the ssd and hdd setup. its my first time using the ssd. i have the OCZ 60gb which may not be enough i have already installed windows 7 ultimate but i dont see the hdd in windows. i can see the hdd in the bios but thats it. can things like the adobe flash player and games be installed on the hdd and if so how do you do it? i have looked up the regedit stuff with not much success instrustions werent very good.

case: Dialblotek EVO ATX mid tower
mobo: asus p8z68 v gen 3
cpu: i5 2500k
cpu cooler: cooler master hyper 212+
psu: cooler master gtx 650w rs-650-acaa-e3
hdd: hitachi 500g 7200rpm
ssd: ocz 60g
blueray lg

Solution
(1) 60 Gig SSD, while yes it is OK for a OS + Program drive, it is Not considered plenty.
60 gig is the Min size with the Recommended size being 90->128 Gig. In your case you have already bought the 60 Gig drive. Recommend you use it as a OS +Program drive, NOT as a Cache drive for the HDD - You will find that most articals/reviews also recommend this. In My systems (4 of them) windows only takes up about 35->40 gigs and that is using the tweeks found below. I have no games installed. and remember USABLE space on a 60 gig SSD is about 50 gigs.

2) On Page file. Windows will allocate up to 1 1/2 Ram size for page file. My recommendation here is to set Min / Max to the same size and w/4Gigs ram set min/max to 1024 mbs. with ^ gigs...

redneck4087

Distinguished
Feb 13, 2012

yes i did thanks thought. i restarted and now i can see it but as for the rest of my question can i install software on the hdd and it be usable for windows ?

1) use diskpart (or easeus partition magic) to format your HDD and assign a drive letter for windows to recognize it: http://www.hdd-tool.com/partition-magic/use-diskpart-command-to-resize-partitions.htm