How to test psu

marxr87

Distinguished
Apr 12, 2010
I just ordered a bunch of computer parts for my new build and I was putting it all together but cannot get the comp to turn on. Thinking about breadboarding but I'm scared because its my first time building and I don't want to destroy anything. I have an anti static band that I keep clipped to the case while I am working but I was wondering...shouldnt the psu make some sort of noise if its plugged in and turned on, or generate heat or something? Its
Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W Continuous Power ATX12V Ver.2.2 / EPS12V version 2.91 SLI Certified CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC "compatible with Core i7/Core i5" Power Supply
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817371015

Also, what cord do I need for this? I have the sata cable, but i dont know whether to put it in the sata 2 or sata 3 slot and there is another, larger plug in on the drive and I don't know if I need it, is it just incase you don't have sata and need IDE or does something need to be plugged into this as well? Does it matter which sata port its plugged into?
ASUS Black Blu-ray Drive SATA Model BR-04B2T - OEM59256219
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16827135205

The mobo has an 8 pin plug in for the 12v power, but one of the build guides had a picture of an 8 pin plug in with only four used...do I need to use the full 8 or should I just plug in a 4 pin?

Lastly, a guy gave me a mobo speaker so I could listen to the bios checks but I don't see a spot labeled for the speaker on the mobo, where does it go?