Sign in with
Your question

External radiator system with sophisticated control

Last response: in Overclocking
November 18, 2012 3:49:55 AM

Hello everyone! I'm new to water cooling, but I already find it very interesting. I'd like to build a cooling system with an external radiator platform, like this one:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FhV1fdavRY0&list=UUqChlb...

Whether its better or not, I just like the idea of isolating most of the "machinery" (pumps, filters, reservoirs, radiators) into a separate unit. The one problem I foresee is what happens if the attached PC is powered up but the external unit is not working correctly? I assume that could permenantly damage some of the hardware. I don't know if modern hardware helps with that (I don't want to try it!) but older hardware used to "cook" in very little time without active cooling.

I don't like the solution of just attaching everything to the same power strip and then "making sure you only turn the strip on and off." I really want to make this idiot proof.

I'd like to design a general purpose solution, where the PC's power is controlled by a relay which will open if "anything bad happens" to the cooling unit, automatically shutting the PC down. Anything bad obviously includes power loss to the external cooling unit, but could also be driven by abnormal water temperatures, sudden flow rate impairment, anything bad that a sensor might notice.

The question is, how to turn all the sensor data into a signal, and then what piece of hardware to buy that can use the signal to turn off another computer. There are a lot of ways to do this, but I'm wondering if anyone has clever ideas for the best way to do it using existing components. A lot of the ideas I see involve actually making stuff -- splicing wires, etc. The whole point of this is that I want something safe, and I wouldn't trust a component I made myself to be of high enough quality for this project.

Thanks!
a c 176 K Overclocking