Sign in with
Your question

New System Built = No Video (already checked EVERYTHING!)

Last response: in Systems
February 14, 2010 7:34:21 PM

First of all, I'm a VERY experienced system builder with at least 100 systems under my belt - from gaming rigs, to servers, to basic desktops - so I tend to know what I'm doing. But I just put together this new system and I am stumped as to what the problem is! I assembled everything, double checked all the connections as I always do before powering it up, and when I turned it on I have no video (using onboard video). All the lights come on, fans fire up, the HDD & DVD drives spin up , but no video. The system is basically a re-build using an old motherboard, RAM, HDD & DVD, but with a new case, CPU and PSU. The system worked just fine when I last used it, before I disassmebled everything, so I assume all the parts I am re-using are in working order. Here is what I have done to troubleshoot it so far:

1. I thought maybe the onboard video went bad, even though it worked before, so I dropped in a video card but still nothing. I also tried using a different cable to my monitor as well as a different monitor.

2. I cleared the CMOS, both by using the jumper and then removing the CMOS battery for about 30 minutes, just to make 100% it got cleared.

2. Then I thought maybe the new CPU isn't supported by the current BIOS version, since this is an older board and the CPU is a newer model, so I pulled the CPU and installed an old Pentium D which I know should be supported. Nope.

3. I swapped out the sticks of RAM - tried one stick by itself, then the other stick, then at least 3 other different sticks. No luck. I also double-checked the board's specs to make sure it supports the RAM I'm using, which it does.

4. I unplugged the HDD's and DVD drive to see if one of those was somehow causing preventing it from botting, but no dice.

5. I tried a different PSU, with no luck.