oragus

Distinguished
Apr 22, 2010
Hi there. I have a ASUS A8N-SLIR Deluxe running an AMD 64 FX-57 2.8ghz, 4 Gbs RAM, Dual 512mb nVidia 9800GTs and looking to upgrade using existing mobo. What would my best options be? I have already upgraded the RAM from 2GB to 4GB (max for this mobo). The 9800GTs (max for my power supply). Only thing left is the CPU I believe. I have tinkered around with OCing it, but not much success. (I am a novice with OCing) I have used nTune to "autotune" it. But I don't want to have to run it and load a profile every time I start up. I would take suggestions on OCing also.

Look

Distinguished
Mar 15, 2010
That motherboard is a socket 939, so the best you could do would be a dual-core 939, which are insanely expensive. I.E an Athlon 64 X2 2.2 GHz is almost $300 on Amazon. http://www.google.com/products/catalog?hl=en&q=amd+socket+939+processors&um=1&ie=UTF-8&cid=905741368773298919&ei=4OLQS826KJD4NeX0xPgP&sa=X&oi=product_catalog_result&ct=image&resnum=4&ved=0CC0Q8gIwAw#

Would be a much better route to go with a new Mobo/CPU.

Yea new it will cost but you can get a Athlon 64 x2 4800+ which is the best that will work in that board for $50 to $60 might even be able to find one cheaper.

Opetrons also work in that board An Opetatron 180 or 185 would be great if you could find one cheap but the cheapest I saw was $175

Look

Distinguished
Mar 15, 2010
The 4800+ and Opteron are 2.4 GHz and 2.6 GHz respectively, correct? If you can get a used one that would be best option if you want to keep that board, if you are comfortable with used tech. Sucks that the board isn't AM2. :(

The 4800+ is 2.4ghz and the opty is 2.6ghz now the opetron will overclock really good and should be a little faster then the Athlon 64 x2 but like I said they arent cheap.

You really should just upgrade motherboard all together you could reuse your DDR2 RAM on certain AM2+ motherboards and that will allow you to get a nice Athlon II processor.