Windows 7 compatible AGP

patches23

Distinguished
Feb 6, 2010
Hello experts, noob here. I have a Sony Vaio PCV-RZ56G (3.4 GHz Pentium 4) with 1 AGP slot, came with an ATI Radeon 9600XT with 128MB. The power supply is 300W and does not have a 6 pin connector.

Windows 7 is an inevitability. What is the best graphics card I can get for this machine that will be compatible with, and get the most out of, 32 bit Windows 7? Somebody here probably knows right off the top of the head and I'll spend hours struggling.

Many thanks in advance.

paperfox

Distinguished
Mar 1, 2009
The best AGP cards you could get are the HD 3850 or HD 4650. But whether they have drivers for Windows 7, I dont know. What you could do is try the Vista drivers, most of the time you can get away with doing that when there is a lack of Win7 drivers.

paperfox

Distinguished
Mar 1, 2009
Accually before that I should have asked what do you plan on using this computer for? Gaming or surfing the web/every day things?

For Gaming the 3850/4650 are the most powerfull solution for AGP, thus you will need to upgrade your PSU in order to use it.

For non gaming use we can find you an older AGP card that dose not need a 6pin and will fit within your 300w PSU. However such a card will be so old that it is no longer supported for drivers thus you wont be able to install it into your Windows 7 computer.

I wouldn't buy Windows 7 and a video card for this system. That's a big chunk of a pretty good system.

If you price things right you can get a good computer (without monitor, mouse etc) for $700. It'll cost you $120 for Windows 7 OEM and another $100 or so for an AGP with any oomph.

Your CPU won't do much for most modern games. Your computer's pretty much a lost cause for gaming and I don't see why else you'd upgrade.