P5N32-E SLI with Q6600 and PC2-8500 RAM

quetzalkoatl

Honorable
Nov 16, 2012
Hi everyone,
I've never overclocked before, but just for fun, tried overclocking my processor by 10% (1066 to 1172). I was surprised by the results! FPS increase in some games.

Now I'm interested in pushing it further...

Here are my specs
ASUS P5N32-E SLI with v1205 BIOS (don't want to flash if there is newer, haven't checked)
Intel Q6600 G0
4x1GB of PC2-8500 OCZ Reaper edition RAM (I looked up the timings on their website, it's 5-5-5-15@2.1V

I tried putting it at 1225 and 1280, but I got BSOD at 1280 and while 1225 booted up and seemed 'stable,' after reboot BSOD.

Now, I am completely new to this, and I have no idea what I'm really doing. What I increased was the FSB freq, I think. My mobo/bios let's me put in the quad frequency directly (so 4x266, I put in 1066, or 1172 for the OC) and the dual frequency for the mem as well (2x533 for 1066)

I seem to have an issue besides stability:

I looked in CPU-Z, and it reports under the "SPD" tab that my memory is PC2-5300 (333) under max bandwidth. I know this isn't the case, the label on the RAM says otherwise. And, if I click the "memory" tab, it says my DRAM freq is 333, and timings 5-5-5-15 and command rate 1T. So this seems wrong. If I manually put in 1066 for my memory frequency in my BIOS, what will happen is that my system won't boot initially, but if I hit the reset button, it boots fine. (But it still reports these other values for my RAM). Also, on the "SPD" tab, I have no idea what the JEDC1,2,3, and EPP#1 are.

I guess the other thing I don't really know about is voltages for the cpu, nb, sb, vtt, etc etc., and I would have no idea what to change them to.

Can anyone offer any advice?

and PS: what is the difference between increasing the FSB or increasing the multipler? I.e., instead of increasing FSB by 10%, can I increase the multipler by 10%? (9->10 approx)

Thanks!

quetzalkoatl

Honorable
Nov 16, 2012