Sign in with
Your question

For 3D rendering and physics calculation

Last response: in Systems
February 15, 2010 12:16:50 PM

Hey Guys

Im new here, so bare with me if this question has been asked already. I have searched and searched but it seems people just try and ignore it.

I am a VFX artist in South Africa working on Autodesk Maya. I do lots of 3D rendering and physics simulations involving liquids and breaking objects. How can i speed up the process of rendering and simulation time by upgrading my hardware. Im really confused with the difference between gaming cards and 3D cards. And I dont have lots of money to spend so Please help!!

My PC Specs:
Intel Core2Duo 1.8Ghz
3Gb RAM
Radeon HD4850 1Gb GDDR3
Windows XP SP2
a c 84 B Homebuilt system
February 15, 2010 7:11:24 PM

The biggest performance increase would be getting a quad core CPU. For a rendering system, I typically recommend the i7-920, but that will likely cost $800 for the CPU, motherboard and RAM alone. The i7-860 would be next best, but it cost around $600 for the same parts. After that, I would suggest the Phenom II X4 955 ($400 for main build). Those upgrades would likely be the biggest upgrade.

Another choice would be dropping in a LGA775 (the CPU socket) quad core. These range from $150 to $350, but wouldn't require anything else to be changed.

For the difference in cards, it's mostly gaming cards and workstation cards. All of the cards can do the same things (mostly), but the main difference is the approach to doing them. Gaming cards use more of the brute force approach. They push out frame after frame as fast as they can, but don't concentrate on quality. Workstation cards go slower, but make every frame perfect.

The other issue is which brand of card to get: ATI or nVidia. nVidia is typically better for working with it's CUDA and PhysX uses. ATI (at least right now) is better for strictly gaming.