Malware on laptop... Using Desktop to clean Hard Drive

visumdesignz

Honorable
Feb 24, 2012
I am new to this, a friend told me to add the hard drive from my laptop to my desktop and run malware bytes. The virus will not let me add a USB drive to the laptop and I cannot access filezilla to retrieve files from my server, so my only option is to add the hard drive to my desktop...

I have added it via sata cable, I thought I hooked it up properly but the desktop is not reading the drive....

Here is a picture of how I hooked it up, you might be able to see an error I have made... Please let me know what I can do to get my desktop to read the drive, I have many important files for clients on there and I cannot afford to reinstall windows, thanks :)

SinisterSalad

Distinguished
Mar 5, 2008
Check Disk Management and see if the drive needs to be activated, or even shows up. I also know that a lot of Dells need the BIOS setting for that SATA port turned on. (I can tell it's a Dell desktop :D) I would check the BIOS 1st.

visumdesignz

Honorable
Feb 24, 2012
Hey guys you pointed it out... I am almost 99% sure the sata needs to be setup in bios... thanks so much, I am going to do that and will reply..

P.S Yes I already did check disk management and it did not appear...

visumdesignz

Honorable
Feb 24, 2012
because if you read above the virus will not let me add a USB drive to the laptop (I do not have malware bytes installed on the laptop, only desktop)

Ok I have encountered a new issue and I believe this should be the last roadblock...

When I turn the sata drive on in bios it runs it as the master drive, I do not know how to run it as a slave drive... According to the setup above can you analyze and let me know how I would run it as a slave drive?

Also the virus will not let me get past the windows loading screen....

visumdesignz

Honorable
Feb 24, 2012