Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Athlon II x3 435

Last response: in Overclocking
November 26, 2012 4:55:40 AM

I'm fairly new to overclocking and have been reading a lot online via Tom's Hardware and other related sites. Currently I have an MSI NF 980-G65 motherboard and an AMD Athlon II x3 435 CPU. I'm curious as to what the next step is from here...

I recently adjusted my FSB from 200(stock) to 240, kept my CPU Ratio at x14.5, lowered NB and HT Link to x8, lowered DRAM to 1:2.66, and kept my voltage at auto. I didn't run Prime95 for hours like everyone else does but when reaching 240 FSB freq, I had run it for a few minutes and I received the BSOD with a IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL message. I'm not sure exactly what that means but one website I found was saying that it could be due to overheating. However, my system seems to stay very cool. I've never reached 35C even on a full load. Where do I go from here?

I'm still very confused with the memory timings in the BIOS as there are so many sub menus to adjust. Also, I wanted to see if I could unlock the 4th core as I know others have done the same. When changing NVCC to auto or all core/per core it doesn't POST. Nothing else was changed in that test as I wasn't sure exactly which voltages(if any) should be changed.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

More about : athlon 435

Best solution

a b À AMD
a c 190 K Overclocking
November 26, 2012 5:25:12 AM

Were you still overclocked when you tried to unlock? try it at 2.9GHz if no joy then thats why your chip was locked off, I have two of them in my house, both unlock solid and clock, one at 3.2, the other at 3.5GHz,
for your ram, look on the sticker on the stick, it should give you the voltage and timings, 9,9,9,24,34 or similar, manually set the first six settings to those numbers and make sure the command rate is 2T