Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Overclocking a non "k" series

Last response: in Overclocking
a b K Overclocking
November 26, 2012 6:27:39 AM

overclocking noob here,

is it actually possible to overclock an i5 3570 (3.4 , 3.8 turbo) at all and if so to what extent?

-Lord Tumnas

More about : overclocking series

Best solution

a b à CPUs
a b K Overclocking
November 26, 2012 6:32:18 AM

You can change the BLK but not the multiplier.

You will only get very small gains and it's hard to maintain system stability with a changed base clock as all other timings are governed by it.
a b K Overclocking
November 26, 2012 6:50:58 AM

ok so i understood little of that, thankyou for the help though

i think ill just stick with the 3.4....
Related resources
a b à CPUs
a b K Overclocking
November 26, 2012 6:52:21 AM

basically it's not worth doing :) 
a b K Overclocking
November 26, 2012 6:55:00 AM

thankyou, ill just leave it then and try my hand at GPU overclocking
a b à CPUs
a b K Overclocking
November 26, 2012 6:58:38 AM

That is definitely worth doing. Just go slowly increasing core clock by 10mhz increments until it wont do a loop of heaven etc. Memory ocing is less important on the GPU than core clock.
November 26, 2012 5:03:20 PM

if you slightly upped the cpu voltage, you could get a 15-20% oc on your cpu, more than you would get out of your video card. video card will prolly overclock about 8%, cause you dont have voltage adjustments for gfx. if you overclock the ram, it would greatly increase bandwidth, but this would take a slight ram overvolt and a fan over the ram sticks, and you can easily get 15-20% oc out of your ram. i find that ram overclocks are sometimes more beneficial than just cpu overclocks, and ive never seen a ram stick that couldnt be overclocked to the next standard frequency.
a b à CPUs
a b K Overclocking
November 26, 2012 8:26:35 PM

DeepDystopia said: