Sign in with
Your question

site:tomshardware com build pc for photo work

Last response: in Systems
February 17, 2010 5:45:51 PM

I am new to Tom's Forums, and even newer to the technology of which components will
work nicely together. This system will be my first build from scratch using new
Components, although I have successfully replaced components in a number of pc's and
built a pc using components salvaged from other redundant PC's.
I am building this for normal internet use etc, but hope to learn and become
proficient at photo editing and perhaps vidoe as well. I would very much appreciate
your thoughts, comments and any suggestions you may have regarding my chosen
components for this sytem and any additional considerations that I may have over
looked. Thanking you in advance for your time and any recommendations.

The OS will be windows 7 ultimate.

PSU - Cooler Master RS600-AMBAD3-UK - COOLERMASTER SILENT PRO 600W MODULA £62.01/ea
Memory - OCZ OCZ2P8004GK - OCZ DDR2 Platinum 800Mhz 4GB Kit .... £68.62/ea
GPU - MSI N8400GS-D512H - MSI NVIDIA 8400GS 512MB 64BIT DDR2 FA... £20.89/ea
CPU - AMD ADX250OCGQBOX - AMD Athlon II X2 Dual-Core (250) 3.0G... £42.35/ea
MOBO - Gigabyte GA-M720-US3 - GIGABYTE AM2 /AM3 NVIDIA-NF720D 4XDDR... £40.24/ea
Case - Antec THREE_HUNDRED_EU - Antec Three Hundred Gaming Tower Case... £34.94/ea
HDD/os - Seagate Barracuda ST380815AS 80GB SATA II Hard Drive - OEM £ 22.95/ea
HDD/Storage - Samsung HD103SJ SpinPoint F3 1TB SATA-II 3.5" Hard Drive - OEM £ 48.99/ea
DVD 1 - Sony 24x Internal DVDRW/Ram SATA Black Lightscribe £ 16.95/ea
DVD - Sony 24x Internal DVDRW SATA Black oem £ 13.29/ea

These prices are pre vat & delivery, from UK suppliers,

Gerrysea
February 18, 2010 2:10:34 AM

I would suggest getting a bigger drive for your OS. Ideally you should install all your apps on one drive, and use the other for your data.
February 18, 2010 9:29:04 AM

Hi Manic,